top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllison Schultz

Zambian Beauty

Updated: Apr 8, 2020

One of my favorite things to share with people are stories about Zambian nature. This is perhaps one of the things that I miss the most about my childhood. I have been on so many safaris that I can’t even count how many, and yet I would go on another one right now in a heartbeat if I could! I have always felt that spending time in the vast savannahs and forests while being surrounded by many different species and exotic animals was the closest feeling I could ever have of accurately experiencing God’s creation. I am sure that nature, no matter where you’re at, can make you feel that way, and it’s certainly a feeling I’ll never forget.


Photo credits unknown

Zambia shares an amazing geographic feature with Zimbabwe. Victoria Falls, discovered by David Livingstone in 1855 and named after Queen Victoria of England, is still called “mosioatunya” by the Africans which means “the smoke that thunders”. It is one of the largest waterfalls known to man and is ranked as one of the seven natural wonders of the world. My family and I visited the falls multiple times over the years and we were always amazed at the sheer volume of water that is dumped over the edge every minute. Personally, I was always a little bit fearful of visiting Victoria Falls because there are very few safety rails available to hang on to, and the stone paths are quite slippery due to all of the mist. People who are brave enough to do so are actually allowed to walk out on the rocks just above the falls and swim in the water next to the edge! Sadly, each year several people die from falling over the side which is why my family and I never took the risk of participating in such a dangerous activity.

Zambia is also home to some incredible wildlife. Unfortunately, wildlife encounters in Zambia are probably more rare than the average American would expect them to be. The fact that I’ve never met a Zambian who’s seen a lion before might surprise you. Many people in the United States reasonably assume that there are many animals roaming freely since Zambia is at the heart of Africa, but this is not the case. My family and I live in a town called Ndola which is about a 5 hour drive from the capital city of Lusaka, and this is how far we have to go if we want to see a lion in a safari reserve. If we wanted to see an elephant, hippo or rhino, we would have to drive nearly 13 hours, almost to Zambia’s neighboring country of Botswana.


Many people question why there aren’t hardly any animals in the wild anymore and I have a one-word answer for this question. Many years ago, my dad went into a village and visited the chief. At this point in my parents’ ministry, they too were surprised to find a lack of wild things roaming about. My dad asked the chief where all the animals were and with a stoic face, the chief clapped his hands and said “relish”. In order to understand the meaning behind this I must first explain that Zambians eat one staple dish at every meal called nshima. This nshima has little or no flavor, so it is often eaten with a side such as a vegetable or a meat, and these side dishes are called relish. My dad suddenly realized that the chief was telling him that over the years they have eaten all of the wild animals, and this is why you have to go to a game reserve in order to see most of the bigger wildlife. Snakes, birds, lizards and bugs are common to find in the wild, but most of the bigger game has been eaten. There was one time in which my family and I saw a wild hippo in the river that runs through our city, but this was many years ago and was a special, once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Besides Victoria Falls and wildlife, there are also other wonderful things in Zambian nature. It’s impossible for me to describe to you just how beautiful Zambia is! For as long as I can remember, nearly every day my parents would wake up and tell us that it was “another beautiful day in Zambia!” How accurate that expression is.

Not only are there beautiful and exotic creatures such as lions, elephants, cheetahs, rhinos, water buffalos, giraffes, zebras, reptiles, bugs, birds, crocodiles, hippos and so many more, but there are also grassy savannahs and Zambian skies which are absolutely breathtaking. If you were to ask me to name my favorite part of Zambian nature, I wouldn’t hesitate to tell you about the clouds. It’s hard to explain how the clouds are different in Africa as opposed to where I live in the United States now, but they are. I like to think that because there is so much open space in the sky in Zambia (i.e. no huge cities and pollution), the clouds have the opportunity to spread out and do what God created them to do.


If you’re interested in experiencing a little bit of Zambian life for yourself, click here to join Usha and Namit on their journey through Zambia. You will be able to get a peek into what Zambia looks like in both the city and village and also be able to experience a virtual safari through one of the best game reserves in the country! Maybe you too will one day have the privilege of discovering Zambian beauty for yourself, in person, just as I did!

 

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page